‘Nefarious’ is a finalist in TNBW contest!

I’m truly honored to announce that Nefarious is a finalist in TNBW’s 2010 Strongest Start Contest. When I saw my name listed under the romance category, I knew I had reason to celebrate, since there are so many talented writers competing with professional level entries.

The news couldn’t have come at a better time. Like many of my fellow writers, I feel like my emotions are glued to a pendulum swinging between “this is great, sure to be snatched up by a publisher!” and “OMG, does this drivel suck or what”. I’m behind on the new novel I want to write this summer, am not having any luck on my quest for an agent, and have a stack of 1st draft manuscripts that need to be polished into a readable state. Last week, I was discouraged enough to asked myself if I’m just wasting my time.

The news of making finalist put me back into writer mode and perked me right back up. I wrote Nefarious about 12 years ago, then when the first pile of rejection slips rolled in, I put it on a shelf  for the next
 8 years.  A few years ago, I dusted it off and decided to give my dream a serious shot. I lost count of  how many times I’ve revised this novel, but it looks like those 50 plus hours I spent polishing it up in January are starting to pay off.

I’ve learned so much about writing from the people at TNBW, I believe joining that community was one of the most important steps I’ve taken on the road to being a successful novelist. I want to thank every one of my TNBW buddies who read my work, help me fill in plot holes, pick my nits, and let me know what works and what doesn’t.

Good luck to all the finalists!

12 comments on “‘Nefarious’ is a finalist in TNBW contest!

  1. kimberlyloomis says:

    Congratulations! Glad to hear you got some news to encourage and motivate you. It’s wonderful to have such affirmations, especially when one winds up in the doldrums of self-doubt. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Congratulations Tina, well done indeed 🙂

  3. Congrats, Tina. IMHO, no time spent writing – and especially, rewriting – is wasted. Keep at it, as you can see, hard work pays off.

  4. bisiadjapon says:

    Congratulations, Tina. You know it’s my favorite of all your novels I’ve read. I wish you the best of luck!! You’re a fantastic writer and wonderful friend.

  5. Congrats, Tina!! That’s excellent news. 🙂

    – Corra

  6. Congrats! A bit late – but better than never right? Only a couple more days until the winners are announced! I think the competition this year was tough and I liked the catagories – the opened it up to all different kinds of writing styles and genres.

Leave a Reply

