Tick Tock, NaNo’s almost here

Since NaNo is just around the corner,  I’d love to hear from others gearing up for the sweet torture ahead.  The bottomless cups of coffee, the all night write-a-thons, the low word count blues, and then, finally, the euphoria of watching our progress meter cross the 50k mark. 

If you’re asking what the heck I’m talking about, let me briefly explain.  NaNoWriMo is short for National Novel Writing Month.  It takes place every November with people from around the globe hell-bent on penning a 50,000 word novel.  The rules, you ask?  There’s really only one:

Write  50,000 words or more of a new novel before midnight on November 30th, and while planning, character sketching,  and outlining are encouraged, you MUST NOT type  even the first word before 12:00 am on November 1st.

Simple as that.

Here are links to the official NaNo blog,  The Office of Letters and Light, and to the actual NaNoWriMo page.

I’ve got over half of my outline done and am up to my eyeballs in research at the minute.  It would be nice if that was the result of my being uber-organized and thinking ahead, but to tell the truth, I originally had hopes of finishing this novel up about now.  Obviously, I fell way behind and totally underestimated the hours of  research involved in a storyline  that overlaps three different historic time periods.  The sequel I was going to do this November is gonna have to wait until spring, but I might have enough time to squeeze in some revisions on a long-neglected 1st draft that’s been begging for attention.  The change of plans is really a stress reliever.  I can use the next 5-1/2 weeks to finish my NaNo brainstorming. The more prep work I do now, the less chance of getting writer’s block I’ll have in November.

Care to share your NaNo 2010 hopes and dreams?

4 comments on “Tick Tock, NaNo’s almost here

  1. Joy says:

    Tina,

    It would be absolutely crazy for me to take on NaNo, but that thought never stopped me before. I doubt I’ll be able to do it, but still, I have some story ideas. 🙂

  2. Hi tina,

    I’m not doing Nano this year because I am releasing The Naked Room on the 3rd November and there will be so much to do with that. I am frantically editing the proofs chapters as they come in and doing some changes.

    Good luck with your novel, I do hope you get through at 50k but even if yo don’t, it’s a start. My Celibate Mouse was a nano project which only yielded 15k words, but it is now completed and awaiting editing, publishing next year. Self-publishing is a very heady experience!

    BTW, I am on cadfael88@gmail.com from now on. My lacock email will be defunct as from 30th September.

    Best and hugs,

    Diana

Leave a Reply

