ABNA 2011

The 2011 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) competition is underway.   They’re accepting entries now through February 6th, or until all 5,000 slots have been filled in each of the two categories, which are General Fiction and Young Adult Fiction.

There’s still plenty of time, if you’re interested.  You’ll need to submit a  finished manuscript between  50,000 to 150,000 words, an excerpt, your pitch of 300 words or less, and a short biography.  Full details are on the Amazon website, which you can access by clicking on the link at the top of this post.

I entered Nefarious yesterday at midnight, and spent another hour and a half this morning on last minute tweaks to my manuscript and the pitch.  This is my fourth time participating in the ABNA, and while I look forward to each year, it makes me a nervous wreak.  I told myself I’d be calm this time, and I was . . . up until I had to hit the submit button.  Not exactly sure why it sends so many butterflies to my stomach, but I guess it might have to do with the awesome opportunity the contest offers.  The two winners get their novels published and a $15,000 dollar award.

So now that my entry is all polished up and retweaked for the thousandth time, I’ll try to put it out of my mind, at least until those eligible for Round Two are announced on February 24th.  Yep, that’ll be a sweaty palm day too.

Who else entered this year?  Or would like to share their experience in past ABNA competitions?

Good Luck to all who dare to enter!

3 comments on “ABNA 2011

  1. Good luck, Tina! I have never entered and, well, certainly don’t have something I want to submit right now. 😉 Lots of deep breaths and hopefully the time will fly as you work on something else (in order to not think about that date in February).

  2. Joy says:

    Best of luck, Tina.

  3. Thanks y’all!

    I’ve only tweaked my entry five times since I posted this! LOL

Leave a Reply

