First Crusader Challenge

The rules call for a 300-word post that includes a secret, one lie, a quirk, an annoying habit, my best character trait, and my favorite thing, along with the words bloviate, fuliguline, rabbit, and blade.   Here goes:

When I take long walks on country roads or through the city park–to hear birds chip, watch rabbits hop around, and look out for lost fuliguline waterfowl–there are two things I always take with me.  You never know what might come along, so I want to be prepared.  I take a cell phone and, like the main character from my novel, a butterfly knife with a shiny blade.  That way I can call 911 if I cut my fingers off.   🙂

A persnickety need to have things in their proper places is my annoying habit, just ask my kids.  The correct arrangement of my cookware is a topic I’ve bloviated on many times, since it drives me crazy when I reach into the cabinet for a saucepan and come out with a potato masher. 

My best character trait would be patience, which comes in handy since I’ve spent a lot of time homeschooling my kids and training my dogs.  And I don’t get impatient waiting for the waiter to bring my chicken parmesan, my favorite thing next to my Kindle.

Okay, so I’m full of quirks.  The biggest one would have to be my need to try new things, no matter how weird.  I parasailed in Panama City, attempted to learn Mandarin (which I failed miserably at), and I learned to play a banjo because one of the characters in my last NaNo novel had one.  It’s never boring at my house, and the neighbors never know what to expect.

One thing mentioned above isn’t exactly true, but can you guess which one it is?  (I’ll set the record straight in my next post.)

26 comments on “First Crusader Challenge

  1. Gary Baker says:

    It’s the butterfly knife you’re fibbing about. I’m almost completely uncertain of it.

  2. LA Colvin says:

    I love this!! I’m going to say the banjo lessons.

  3. Jess Lawson says:

    I can totally spot the lie–waiting patiently for chicken parmesan??? No way!!!

    🙂

  4. I think it’s the butterfly knife.

  5. projectfraeya says:

    The banjo lessons?
    Hello fellow crusader 🙂

  6. Hey Tina! Fellow Crusade Group 12 buddy here, popping in to say hi. Hmm- so hard to pick… I’m thinking you probably don’t carry a knife on your walks (but if you do, it makes you sound totally badass! :)).

  7. PK Hrezo says:

    Hey, Tina! Nice to meet you! Funny, I used to have my blog title as “Chronicles of an Author at Large.” Great minds think a like. 🙂
    Hmmm.. my guess would be that you don’t really bring a blade with you.

  8. onceupona says:

    I am going to guess that it’s the patience thing too. It doesn’t sound realistic to be patient waiting for your favorite food… Hullo Crusader! popped in from Rachael’s list to say hello!By the way I subscribed to your blog and am commenting as ‘onceupona’ because that is my WordPress blog but I write at http://conch-to-be.blogspot.com/ and that is how you’ll find me on Rachael’s list! Cheers! Danette

  9. Angela Scott says:

    Hmmm…butterfly knife? That has to be a lie, but it got me thinking…

    I never realized the possiblity of people carrying weapons while taking a stroll. I guess from now on, whenever I go for a casual walk in the park and come upon someone, instead of saying hi, I now will call out, “I’m just enjoying the weather and taking a walk today. Please don’t knife me.” 🙂

  10. Zan Marie says:

    Hi, fellow crusader. I’ll say the lie is the banjo lessons, too.

  11. I’m guessing you are NOT patient when waiting for your chicken parmesan?!

  12. Catherine Johnson says:

    Oh this is a good one, I’m going with butterfly knife, but secretly thinking it is the patience one.

  13. Lynda Young says:

    my guess, the lie is patience 😉

  14. Hello fellow crusader! I enjoyed your entry. I’m with you on the pots and pans organization. I put every lid with every pot — can’t stand to have to search for the lid!

    I’m going to guess your fib is you really dislike chicken parm.

    Great to meet you!

  15. Julie Musil says:

    What fun information! I’m going to guess you did NOT fail at learning Mandarin. It sounds like you’re the type who will accomplish what you try 😀

  16. Ann says:

    Hello fellow crusader, nice to meet you. I think the little fib involves the knife.

  17. Hello fellow crusader! *waving* Sorry I didn’t post about this, I had a book review to write. I think that you being patient was maybe sugar coated? I do believe that you have a certain amount of patience, but when pushed too far, you snap a bit and throw a baby tantrum. 😉 I wonder which thing is not a truth?

    ♥.•*¨ Elizabeth ¨*•.♥

  18. Vicki Tremper says:

    Everything sounded so reasonable – I have no idea which is the lie! Good job!

  19. VR Barkowski says:

    Ah, this is a fun one, Tina. Hmm, that persnickety/patience thing threw me, but to buck the trend, I’m going to say you didn’t parasail in Panama City.

  20. lbdiamond says:

    I’m gonna guess you don’t bring a blade with you on walks. 🙂

  21. LadyJai says:

    Hello fellow crusader! I am a tad bit late, so I just thought I would just say Hi! 😀

    I’d have to say having patience for the waiter….

  22. Joy says:

    I think the butterfly knife is your lie in this post.

  23. I’m going to say the banjo is the lie too. Maybe it was another instrument.

  24. Lisa Potts says:

    I’m going to guess that you don’t actually carry a blade with you on walks. Great post!

  25. Man, I’m really not good at spotting lies in these things. Sheesh! The bango lessons seems too obvious, as does the knife. Maybe you’re not a patient person?

    Lynnette Labelle
    http://www.lynnettelabelle.com

  26. L'Aussie says:

    I reckon you’re lying about learning Mandarin! Interesting life!

    Denise:)

Leave a Reply

