Lit Bits and a Book Recommendation

‘Lit Bits’ are snippets from novels, short poetry picks, pretty much any specks of literature that catch my fancy.  Today I’d like to share a poem I really enjoy.  “Drinking Alone in the Moonlight” was written over 1200 years ago by Li Po (701-762), a great poet from China’s T’ang Dynasty. 

Drinking Alone in the Moonlight
by Li Po
Beneath the blossoms with a pot of wine,
No friends at hand, so I poured alone;
I raised my cup to invite the moon,
Turned to my shadow, and we became three.
Now the moon had never learned about drinking,
And my shadow had merely followed my form,
But I quickly made friends with the moon and my shadow;
To find pleasure in life, make the most of the spring.

Whenever I sang, the moon swayed with me;
Whenever I danced, my shadow went wild.
Drinking, we shared our enjoyment together;
Drunk, then each went off on his own.
But forever agreed on dispassionate revels,
We promised to meet in the far Milky Way.

I thought it was beautiful.  Nature, moonlight, wine, his shadow, and a happy heart show a man enjoying life to the fullest.  Reading it gave me a peaceful feeling and made me smile, and I’ve remembered these lines many times while enjoying a glass of wine.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I recently read ‘The Naked Room” by Diana Hockley and would like to recommend it.The mystery, suspense, and engrossing characters kept me up late reading this novel, and the plot is full of things I never saw coming. 

Check it out!

13 comments on “Lit Bits and a Book Recommendation

  1. Jess Lawson says:

    I loved that poem~ thanks for sharing!

  2. Love Li Po. This poem is beautiful, I think, because it is perfectly eccentric. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I was trying to follow you back. But don’t see how to, so I am doing an email subscription. Could you enable followers? BTW, the poem makes me want to try writing poetry. 🙂

    • Hi Robyn,
      Worpress won’t let me use the normal following options, like the cute ones with the little square faces underneath.

      BUT, if you use Google Reader to follow people, all you have to do is go to your Google Reader page and in the top left corner click the ‘Add a Subscription’ button, then copy and paste my URL in there. I’ve tried it and it works fine, and my new posts should show up there. 🙂

  4. Su says:

    What a great poem! Thanks for sharing!

  5. L'Aussie says:

    I can’t believe this poem was written so long ago. I loved it to. I’ll have to put it to music and I’ll have a new drinking song, ha ha. Thanks for the recommendation for The Naked Room.

    Denise<3

  6. Tara says:

    That poem was very peaceful.

    Thanks for the recommendation – always looking for a good suspense!

  7. Joy says:

    Interesting poem.
    I can’t wait to read Naked Room all at once.

  8. What an intriguing poem. I loved the line “I raised my cup to invite the moon,” – very evocative! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Hugs,

    Rach

  9. lbdiamond says:

    Oh, I love this poem!! Great imagery and tone.

  10. Thanks for sharing.

    I’m starting up a ‘Critiquing Crusaders’ program, where participants in the Second Crusade can find other writers to exchange critiques with or form critiquing circles. If you’re interested, come by The Kelworth Files to check it out!

Leave a Reply

