Polishing up Synopses

I’m spending a big chunk of this weekend polishing up two synopses, which I’ll need for the submission packages for the Words & Music Agent and Editor Critiques.   One is a bit too long but is nearly ready; the other’s a tad short  and needs more pizzaz.  Well, at least I don’t have to start from scratch.

Give ‘Em What They Want:  The Right Way To Pitch Your Novel to Editors and Agents has a terrific chapter called “Successful Synopses”.  I’m going to read the rest of the book this weekend, when I’m giving the red pen a break, but I started with this section because it includes a synopsis checklist, specifics on format, advice from published authors, a bunch of examples, and shows one synopsis with critiques as it goes through three drafts. 

After I get the submissions set off, then I’ll have two months to agonize over the ‘In Person’ pitch, and perhaps have some nerve pills on hand for when the time comes to use it.  😛 

Anybody else in edit mode this weekend?

11 comments on “Polishing up Synopses

  1. taureanw says:

    Good luck!
    My 2nd least favorite thing to do (1st is editing) is writing the sypnosis 😦

  2. Jess says:

    I sent my synopses out for a conference about a month ago…and I’m cringing a little now. I wish I’d spent more time on them, but I was literally getting fried. I should have let them sit a couple of weeks, but we had a deadline. I’m starting to think about my in-person pitches now, so I can relate to thinking about nerve pills 🙂

  3. L'Aussie says:

    All the best for your synopses. That book looks good. Deadlines and redlines huh?

    Denise

  4. Thanks Denise 🙂
    The book I mentioned is chock full of good stuff. I’m hoping it’ll help me. 🙂

  5. I’m editing Distraction – AGAIN. Are you doing Rachel Harrie’s Platform Building Campaign again? This week is sign up. http://rachaelharrie.blogspot.com/
    Talk to you later.

    • Joy, Good luck on the Distraction edits. 🙂

      Thanks for telling me about Rachel Harrie’s new campaign! I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t made the blogging rounds as much as I need to. I just posted on her site and will try to finish signing up this weekend. Should be fun. 🙂

  6. Sounds like a great book. I bought a book on queries and synopses but it was outdated, where the queries were pretty long. Hate that. Good luck on your submissions and in-person pitches.

    • Hi Courtney, and thanks for the good luck, because I’ll need it to keep from stammering and putting my foot in my mouth! 🙂 The book I mentioned was full of helpful info. I read the library copy, then ordered my own.

      Best of luck with your Sapphire Reigh edits, since I know using that red pen is a lot of work.

  7. oh yeah, and I will be editing Sapphire Reign in 2 weeks. I have some projects in store for this week.

Leave a Reply

