Synopses Hell

Okay, so it’s taken me over a week longer to fix up the two synopses I’ve been working on. Ugh. I thought one looooong weekend would do it, but in addition to that, I spent a minimum of two hours a day all through the past week. The one for Nefarious is done, finally . . . I think. The one for No More Tears absolutely sucked to the point of having to completely redo it. Since the query I have for it sounds pretty awesome to me, I took it apart to use as a synopsis skeleton, then fleshed it out. Now I just need to add a few words to it to bring out more of the two main characters’ traits. Did I mention synopsis writing is NOT my favorite thing?

On to something more fun. Rachael Harrie’s Third Writers’ Platform Building Campaign is on and runs through Halloween. I enjoyed the last one and look forward to all this one will bring.ย Sign-ups end August 31st, so you still have time to join. ๐Ÿ™‚

10 comments on “Synopses Hell

  1. Fellow campaigner just dropping by to say hi! *waves*

  2. Hi Tina,
    I am a fellow campaigner and also dread trying another synopses. I would so much rather be able to say just read the book, that’s what it’s there for! Alas I don’t think that would work.

  3. rbyrnes says:

    Synopsis purgatory…been there. Good luck! You’ll be so happy when you’re done.

    Stopping by from the campaign to say hello! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Hi Tina,
    Just dropping in to say ‘hi’ from the campaign. I am in the same (lit fiction) group as you and look forward to getting to know you better during the campaign.

  5. Katie Gates says:

    Hi Tina, I linked over from the Campaign List – Literary Fiction group. I don’t like writing synopses either – they are a necessary evil, I guess. Good luck with it, and I look forward to reading more of your posts.

  6. Hi rbyrnes, Joanna, and Katie,
    Thanks for dropping in. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Dora Hiers says:

    Hey Tina.

    I’m with ya! Stopping by to say “hi” from the campaign. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  8. Uh, I hate the thought of writing a synopsis so much that I’ve put off querying agents who require them. I wish I’d kept one up while I was writing my novel. I just got the Scrivener program, which makes doing a synopsis so easy, so it’ll be a piece of cake for novel #2.

Leave a Reply

