Should I force a marriage, whack somebody for revenge, or deal with a ghostly stalker?

Oh, the choices a writer must make.  🙂  Nano is a little over a week away and I’ve changed my mind about my project.  I was going to go the responsible route and do the second half of my WIP, labeled Book Two to fit the rules, but thought hey, NaNo is all about the creative process, smearing a totally new first draft on paper, and it’s not like I don’t have a journal full of ideas just itching  for an inky birth. 

The hard part is choosing which one of those story ideas to use.  I’ve been sketching out all three books on my new Scrivener NaNo software, trying to make up my mind.  Even the Pros and Cons paper full of scribbles beside me  has yet to help.

Here are my 3 NaNo candidates (Please ignore the horrible working titles) :
Forced Marriage – Romantic Suspense: This will be the easiest for NaNo, the characters and plot ideas are the clearest in my head so I shouldn’t get stuck, I love the concept, and I only need to clarify the suspense element 
Forgotten Murder – Thriller/Suspense:  Coolest ever way to get away with murder, but I don’t have a good feel for the characters yet.  Thriller elements give plenty of fodder for NaNo, but I’ll have to map out details.
From the Grave – Horror:  Horrific, original concept that scared me when I thought of it, but I have no idea what the middle of the story would be, and no idea for supporting characters yet.

A pantser I am NOT, so I absolutely must outline my project next week, create character sheets, devise a timeline, and fill up a ream of paper with brilliant ideas and details before the clock strikes midnight on Halloween, the official November 1st kickoff at 12:01 am.  I know, I know, some people actually enjoy just letting ideas flow from the seat of their pants (hence the word ‘pantser), but  that would be my idea of hell and makes me hyperventilate just thinking about it.

Hmmm, looking over the above makes me think I’ll probably go with the Romantic Suspense idea, since it’s the easiest and most thought out.  I’ll be in New Orleans for 4 days mid-November, so I need something that will flow quickly from my mind into the word processor so I don’t get behind.

Who else is struggling to decide?

8 comments on “Should I force a marriage, whack somebody for revenge, or deal with a ghostly stalker?

  1. Jess says:

    I like the sound of all of those, and I agree~ the romantic suspense seems like a good choice for NaNo, especially if the characters are clear in your head~ that’s huge. I’m not ready to do it this year, and with my family schedule, I feel like I’d be setting myself up for failure 🙂 Maybe next year! Meanwhile I’ll be living vicariously through rock stars like you!

  2. Susanna says:

    Well, I’m always a sucker for a good happily-aver-after romance or a good suspense/thriller, so I would choose either of the first 2 – whichever you feel most comfortable with which seems to be the romance. I’ll look forward to reading your draft on December 1 🙂 I wish I could do NaNo, but I just don’t think I have the time to pull it off this year – too much going on, and too many other writing projects that are in various stages of unfinished that have to get done. But good luck to you – keep us posted on your progress if you have time!

  3. Thanks Jess and Susanna, 🙂
    I believe I will go the Romantic Suspense route this year, and I’ll have the other two to work on….sometime next year..after NaNo, and I’ll take way longer than 30 days. 🙂

  4. All three sound great, but I can see how you’d go with the easier one, the one with the better flow, since you’ll be traveling.

    I’m thinking about my future wips and new ideas, unsure of what to start once I finish the current wip.

  5. Hmm, all good ideas but i agree that going with the one that is clearest in your mind is the best bet. I’m a “NaNo Rebel” this year – working on and expanding my Camp NaNo novel. (That’s something your readers might want to consider if November is too busy – Camp NaNo takes place is in July and August.)

  6. jesselunsford says:

    I say go with your feeling. I’m going to go back and do the book I originally wanted to do for NaNoWriMo 2010 but decided against at the last minute.

  7. I know what I’m doing – it’s a space opera idea that I started 12 years ago or so when I was still in University, but never managed to finish.

    My vote is for the forced marriage, that sounds interesting, and I think it’s significant that you mentioned it first.

  8. I’m interested in doing an interview series on Nano participants for my blog, The Kelworth Files. If you’re interested in participating, you can reach me at chrisken zero at gmail dot com (with the zero being a digit.)

Leave a Reply

