Writing Workshop instructed by Michael Garrett

I had a busy but very productive weekend.  First, I was lucky enough to attend two workshops taught by Michael Garrett, professional editor and author of Keeper.  The one on becoming a published author was full of useful information about getting an agent, networking with other writers, things to do and to avoid in writing, and the importance of the first paragraph.  The second was feedback on our first five manuscript pages, and the whole class hung on his every word.  I can’t tell you how much I learned, and I met a few very talented local writers in the process.  Mr. Garrett is a genuinely nice guy teaching the classes to encourage and inform those of us with the writing bug.  I would highly recommend attending his workshops if you get the chance, and to use his service as an editor.  My only regret is that I didn’t think ahead to bring a copy of his book to ask him to sign.

Other things keeping me busy are polishing up my pitch for my New Orleans trip and trying to finish my NaNo outline and character sketches.   Thanks for all the feedback on which story I should tackle this November!  I’m definitely going with the forced wedding, which I still have no title for.  I do have characters that are coming alive, with images loaded to give me visual inspiration, but none of them are named yet.  Ugh.  If I don’t come up with something by midnight, I’ll just call them MC and Leading Man for a few days.  🙂

I’m lovin’ my Scrivener for windows trial version for planning this baby.  Seriously great software and easy to use.  I’m addicted to their corkboard feature and how the outline and chapters and such are all connected; you only have to change one, not go in and alter them separately when you decide to reorder events and things. 

Well, I have to get back to planning my project, ‘cuz the NaNo countdown is ticking in my ear, reminding me to get back down to business.

3 comments on “Writing Workshop instructed by Michael Garrett

  1. Jess says:

    Best of luck with NaNo!

  2. Many great things here. Happy writing, Tina.

Leave a Reply

