My ‘Name My Badass Character’ Contest

Yes, blogging friends, as the title might suggest, I’m having a contest.  And from all the extra and sometimes extraneous wordage you’ll find in this post, you might have guessed I’m knee-deep in writing my NaNo novel.  So, without further ado, and regrets that I can’t use my blog posts in my NaNo word count, here are the details:

A  character who is very important to my story is as of yet nameless.  Help me solve this dilemma by suggesting a name, a nickname actually, and, if your suggestion is chosen, you’ll win a  $10 Amazon gift card!!  The contest starts now, and I’ll take submissions up until midnight central standard time on the night of  November 14th.   Everyone is eligible, even my blood relatives, because I’m picking the name that best represents this dude.   No playing favorites here.

The character is a sleazy washed up male celebrity in his late 30s.  He blackmails somebody with naked pictures, so he’s pretty much an asshole.   He isn’t one of the main characters,  but he’s integral to the plot, somebody you’ll love to hate.  He has multiple tattoos and parties a lot (I know, duh).  I’m thinking maybe an animal nickname, along the lines of but not the obvious Snake or Spider.  Or maybe he’s named after a weapon, or it’s a bad word in a foreign language.  But hey, that’s up to you to come up with.  And I’d prefer one or two syllables, since that’s the normal nickname length.  🙂  Just leave your entry as a comment on this thread, and check back around November 17th to find out who wins.  Thanks so much and good luck!!  (Seriously, my NaNo novel needs your help!)

I’m NaNoing my little heart out, so I’m sorry if I haven’t gotten around to your blogs as much as I’d like, but I’m trying to catch up.  🙂  Chris over at the Kelworth Files is posting very some great interviews with NaNo participants, so check it out, and I’ll let you know when my upcoming interview will be.  And my buddy Joy (J. L. Campbell) from The Character Depot is hosting a Getting to Know You Blogfest, so check that out, and come back to read my post for it on November 13th.

So what are you waiting for?  Go think of a super cool nickname for my character, for goodness sake!

18 comments on “My ‘Name My Badass Character’ Contest

  1. The nickname I came up with is “Grease.”

    Happy NaNo’ing.

  2. Jess says:

    This is such a fun idea~ a good nickname would require more thought on my part, but off the top of my head, I’ll give you:

    Bulldog
    Weasel
    Hammer
    Driver (as in, “Screwdriver,” which might fit this guy since he’s always pushing/sleazing his way under people’s skin)

  3. J.L. Campbell says:

    How about Slash? I’ll come back if I think of any more.
    Thanks for the plug on the group blogfest. Also giving away ecopies of Hardware, so stop by if you get a chance.

    I won’t wish you good luck because I know you’ll make your word count.

  4. Thanks Joy!
    Am liking your entry. 🙂 And feel free to enter as many times as you like, that’s part of the fun.

    I appreciate your confidence in my NaNoing, and I hope I’m stubborn enough to get my 50K in this time. 🙂 My behind is dragging a little today.

    Looking forward to the Blogfest!

  5. Jack Gibson says:

    His name is Colt…Colt Ransom.

    …and that’s all there is to it.

  6. What a neat idea! I’m gonna cheat here (maybe it’s considered cheating) because the description of your character made me think of someone my sister dated a long time ago. He was kind of a sleazy guy, had tattoos, had been in prison, yet he was my favorite out of all her psycho boyfriends. And yes, he had a nickname.

    How about Lugnut? He got the name by making jewelry out of lug nuts in prison. He was a crazy real life character, and his real name was even weirder (his real name has made it’s way into some of my stories.) Lol.

    Good luck with your NaNo novel! 🙂

  7. […] Check out the NaNo related ‘Name My Badass Character’ contest going on at my blog: https://tinadchayes.wordpress.com/2011/11/05/my-name-my-badass-character-contest/ […]

  8. Hi, Tina! Ninja Surprise – your spotlight interview is up at http://kelworthfiles.wordpress.com/2011/11/10/nano-spotlight-tina-hayes-and-her-badass-character/

    For your badass character, I was thinking that the name should be an animal name, and one that’s kinda gross maybe, because blackmailers are disgusting. Even Sherlock Holmes thought so – and you should check out Charles Augustus Howell, the alleged blackmailer who inspired a Sherlock Holmes story, and was found with his throat slit and a coin in his mouth.

    So my nickname suggestion is ‘Tapeworm’ 😉

  9. Raymond Ress—RAM–horny sheep you know.

    Kane–as in Abel and Cain

    Sin–James Sinclair

    Rye–a type of whiskey– John Rhyner

  10. Jo-Jo–one of the annoying twofer names because his name something like Joe Johanssen. And he sounds like a dog and mobster…lol

  11. I once developed a character who thought he was a real bad-ass dude and wanted to be called “Mephistopheles” after the chief devil in the Faustian legend. However, this name was morphed by his followers/minions into “Meph,” then into “Mephy” and finally into “Messy”. Needless to say, the guy wasn’t nearly as bad-ass as he thought he was.

  12. Sharon Morgan says:

    Hi Tina, I’m lucky, since I write historical, history has already named my characters, and even what happens to them. But in your case, I would like to submit:

    (1) Lobo
    (2) Stinger
    (3) Viper

    crazeesharon

  13. Sharon Morgan says:

    Or:

    (4) Scorpion
    (5) Tarantula
    (6) Buzzard

  14. shawna says:

    I vote for “Kullo” (means asshole in spanish hehe)

  15. Awesome name suggestions here! Thank you all so much for the entries. I’ll make my final decision and post the winner tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

