Getting to Know You Blogfest

Here are my answers for the Getting To Know You Blogfest.  I’m looking forward to going around to read the rest of the blog posts for this! 

1. Name two romantic suspense authors who inspire you.|
Jude Deveraux and Nora Roberts

2. How did you start writing in your genre?
I’d always wanted to write a full length novel. One day the idea for this story about a single mom who falls for a rock star only to be tormented by a deranged stalker popped into my head and literally haunted me for weeks. It would run through my mind as I tried to go to sleep each night and distract me while I took care of my kids during the day. Romantic suspense is fun because you not only have the love story to work with, but you can pepper the plot with all kinds of spicy drama, mystery, and plot twists.

3. You’ve landed a meeting with your dream agent. Write a one paragraph pitch to sell your novel to him/her. (No more than four sentences)

When Harlie Steele falls in love with rock legend Lex Callatori, their relationship pulls her away from her small-town home and sweeps her into his tempestuous world of paparazzi, tabloids, and bodyguards. As their passion flourishes, someone sets out to rip them apart, one way or the other. Harlie literally fought to stay alive when she left her abusive ex-husband and has no intention of being anyone’s victim ever again, but when the stalker raises the stakes, she’s in for the fight of her life.

4. Sabotage or accident- which would put your female lead through and why?
Sabotage, definitely. She’d have to find out who was responsible, then make them pay.

5. Plotter or Pantser? Who are you?
Plotter all the way. It would drive me nuts if I had to start a novel without knowing all about what motivated my characters, what they were about to do, and who or what was out to get them. OMG, makes me nauseous just thinking about it.

5 comments on “Getting to Know You Blogfest

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve read about Harlie’s adventures.
    I can so relate to the thought of being driven mad if I don’t have an idea of where I’m going when I start a novel.

  2. L'Aussie says:

    Hi Tina. Good to read more about you. I’m a pantser, so would drive you crazy! Harlie’s adventures sound intriguing.

    Denise

  3. I enjoyed reading about Harlie and your writing process (I’m a plotter, too).

    Have a great week.

  4. Kris Bock says:

    I’m with you on plotting, sabotage, and the general appeal of romantic suspense!

    Kris Bock
    Rattled: romantic suspense in the dramatic and deadly New Mexico desert. Read 3 chapters: http://www.krisbock.com

  5. I’ll never forget Jude Deveraux’s Night in Shining Armor. Great book. Just stopping by to say hello during the blogfest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

