Amazing Authors I Admire

Thought listing some of the authors I admire the most would be good way to kick off the A to Z challenge.   Here’s my list:

Stephen King – not only are most of his plots goosebump scary, he is the absolute King of Characterization (more on that in a future post).  I could never pick a favorite, but some of his novels that come to mind are Misery, Under the Dome, Cell, Insomnia, Duma Key, Lisey’s Story, and his short story collections.

J. K. Rowling – my kids grew up reading her books as they came out, and I must say, it was a joy to see the Harry Potter series, a timeless classic, become so popular.  I’ve read all the books and seen each movie.  🙂

Jude Deveraux – Her romance novels inspired me to start my writing career.  My hands-down favorite of her books is A Knight in Shining Armor.

Nora Roberts – What can I say?  She rules the Romantic suspense category, as far as I’m concerned.  I’ve read so much of her work I can’t even think of my top picks.

Dean Koontz – I am in awe of his twisted plots, dark humor, and unforgettable characters.  Life Expectancy is one of my favorites.

Some other amazing authors  are Audrey Niffenegger, Lewis Carroll, Katheryn Stockett, and Margaret Mitchell.

Who are some of your favorite authors?

8 comments on “Amazing Authors I Admire

  1. JK Rowling is great, yeah. I’m also a big fan of Diane Duane, Madeleine L’Engle, Ursula Leguin, Larry Niven, Diana Wynne Jones, Anne McCaffrey, Jonathan Stroud, and Jim Butcher. 🙂

  2. So many great authors! I love JK, Stephen, Audrey, Kathryn, Margaret also – so talented and so many great books!

  3. Tina – I’m with you re King and characterization. Forget all the scary stuff (okay, not totally!) – his people are so real and alive and unforgettable.

    Happy A-Z!

  4. akidiwata says:

    My favorite is Terry Goodkind – I’ve read his Sword of Truth series many times. I’ve also enjoyed Nora Roberts’ books.

  5. Nora is definitely on my list of favourites. I know you’re into horror and all that, but I’m too much of a wimp to read horror.

  6. I think my tastes are pretty lame compared to yours 😉

    Anita Shreve
    Fay Weldon
    Linda Gillard
    Elizabeth Haynes

    These 4 are the ones I’m always on the lookout for 🙂

    Good start to the A-Z hon

    xx

  7. fastlinxs says:

    Cool I also like Stephen King, good start to the a to z, regards John

  8. elschneider says:

    J.K. Rowling for sure, and I love Stephen King, too. Also a big fan of Suzanne Collins, Carrie Ryan, Sarah Ockler, Laura Hillenbrand, and my all time fav, Roald Dahl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

