Update on my 2012 Writing Goals

June’s here, so that means nearly half the year is behind us.  That was quick, huh?  Anywho, I thought this would be a good time to take a look at how my goals for 2012 are coming along.

My Writing Goals for 2012
1)  Log in at least one hour per weekday on my writing career
This one’s on track, looking at the totals.  There have been 110 weekdays this year and I’ve logged in 127 hours, so I’m 17 ahead.
2)  Write a new novel
Not even close.  Not even in my dreams.
3)  Finish/Polish/or Revise the 7 manuscripts in FINISH ME NOW, DAMN IT!  pile (Some only need tweaks, others lack a few chapters)
One down!  Petal Pushers got the red pencil treatment and is 100%.  Just six more to go.  😛
4)  Attend more writing conferences and workshops
Um, not yet
5)  Join a writer’s guild
I joined the RWA as a PRO member, and attended my first meeting at the Louisville Romance Writer’s chapter last week.   🙂
6)  Submit something somewhere each week
I’m 8 ahead. But I’ll have some weeks where I might make 5 or 6 submissions, then go a few with none. But’s it evens out.
7)  Write 12 poems
I’ve written 3 so far
8)  Write 10 short stories
3 down, 7 to go

Still have a lot to accomplish yet, but I did get one checked off and I’m making progress.  Not too shabby.  🙂

I know writers have many different ways of tracking their productivity. Here’s what works for me. I count hours spent on my writing career, whether it’s adding word count, revising, prepping and sending submissions, attending workshops, or sketching characters and outlining for a new project. I don’t count time spent blogging or posting on writing sites. One hour each weekday is the very minimum I’m shooting for, and most days under normal circumstances I clock in more time. There’s a timer that stays on my desk to count down the hours, and I pause the thing when someone comes in or the phone rings, so I’m really making each second count.  I like staying ahead on this, so that if something unexpected comes up, I won’t feel like I’m getting too behind.

How do you measure your writing productivity? Are you a timekeeper, a word counter, or something else?

15 comments on “Update on my 2012 Writing Goals

  1. I’ve been meaning to write out my goals for a while now, but no dice. I need to stick to some kind of schedule to get to where I plan to be by yearend. .

  2. Writing Jobs says:

    That was a great post. I really enjoyed it very much. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Enjoy writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Writers Wanted

  3. You’re doing very well so far honey, good luck 🙂

    I don’t actually measure my productivity, but after reading your post I’m thinking that perhaps I should lol.

    I’ve been setting myself weekly goals, but I’m not sure that’s really working, as I end up disappointed at the end of each week lol

    Xx

  4. You’re so organized, and doing so well! Congrats! I should have a system. I don’t. I just dive in and work and stop when I have to 🙂

  5. Jess says:

    Great progress! I keep one outline for the year, documenting what I’d like to get done each month. I shift/add goals as needed. I try to keep them attainable, so I get a little ego boost if I actually accomplish them 🙂

  6. Pete Denton says:

    I like the idea of counting the time. I set word count targets and deadlines for finishing the work. I spend a lot of time thinking about plot, characters and jotting notes. I like the idea of counting all that work too.

  7. Hey Pete,
    Glad you liked the post. I decided to count all the time involved (like the fleshing out and pitching) because that’s honestly just as important as the wordage part, I think. I even keep a little time card Iog my hours into each time I write. 🙂

  8. I enjoyed reading about your progress. This post reminded me of another writer friend’s goal posts (LOL – couldn’t resist). You should check it out. http://cbwentworth.wordpress.com/2012/05/31/may-status-report-2012-goals/

  9. debs says:

    You’re so good. My New Year’s resolutions are long forgotten. I used to religiously count the number of words I’d written and submitted. I found that really helpful. But I don’t do that any more. Hmmm.

    Doing it by time is an interesting technique. I can see how that would work.

    I do keep a track of how many subs I’ve got out, for short stories and poems. I have a minimum figure for how many I want to be out.

  10. Some goals are a lot harder than they look at first, aren’t they?

    I prefer to track by some kind of tangible accomplishment like word count, stories written, or so on – unless it’s something that I dread a little and gets intractable, in which case logging time can help – like cleaning.

    3.5 stories out of 8 for my June ‘Summer of Shorts’ challenge, whoo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

