Ugghh, Big Time Office Setback

Remember when I mentioned having an asthma attack putting together my beautiful new desk?  My eyes swelled a few days later, and for some reason these past two weeks I keep wheezing and my throat burns, worse each time I’ve spent time in my office.  Found out the new furniture is made from crap that give off dangerous levels of formaldehyde.

Went to doctor today, got a shot in the butt, and she encouraged me to get the thing out of the house.  I spent about 6 hours putting that thing and the hutch together!  But I believe I’d rather breathe and stay away from long-term effects, so bye-bye desk from hell.

This Sucks!

The new desk is now out on the patio until my husband can take it away tomorrow.  The downstairs screen doors are open and I have fans blowing the fumes out the door, then I’m gonna stick 2 air filtering houseplants down there.  Where am I typing this post, you ask?  On a card table upstairs in the dining room corner with the computer and all the stuff I could grab real quick, with a dust mask on, like that thing did any good. UUggghhh.

The only upside is  that we called the company to explain the situation, and they are refunding my purchase price and said we can dispose of the desk.  I was happy they were cooperative, but it kinda makes me think they know what kind of hazardous materials are in their pressboard and MDF…and that I’m most likely NOT the only one to have this reaction to formaldehyde exposure from their stuff.  I’m an otherwise healthy  person, but don’t they know/care small children and people with health problems are exposed to their products?!

Kinda makes me go hmmmmmm, where are the laws to protect our health?  Have they banned anything beside asbestos, ever?

6 comments on “Ugghh, Big Time Office Setback

  1. Oh, how awful, Tina! So sorry you had such a terrible reaction. Thank goodness you were able to solve the problem, even if it’s a set back. And you are right – no company should be producing things like that and sending them into people’s homes! I hope it all get resolved soon and you get a desk that isn’t a health hazard!

    • Thanks Susanna,
      I feel much better today, the first day my throat hasn’t burned since we hauled that desk off. I’m trying to find an all wood one this time.

  2. Oh no, that’s awful 😦

    Glad you managed to find out what was making you ill…. shocking 😦

    Xx

  3. Jess says:

    Oh my gosh, that’s terrible! Who knew time in the office could make you literally sick! And that’s pretty scary~ I don’t know how long it would have taken me to think of the desk as the culprit. Sorry about the shot in the butt, but I’m glad you’re getting things worked out. Are you going to post more office photos with the new desk?

  4. Thanks Jess,
    I can breathe now so I’m much better. 🙂 I’ll post more pics as soon as I get my next desk, a poison free one. 🙂

  5. As a fellow asthma sufferer — and a person who needed forever-and-a-day to get my home office together — I do feel your pain.

    Good luck with with your office. It’ll get there (eventually)!

    I posted about creating my office space, too. Feel free to take a look if you’re interested:

    http://mikeallegra.com/2012/06/02/mr-mike-builds-his-dream-office/

    All the best,

    Mike

Leave a Reply

