NaNo 2012, Day 7

How’s going it, my friends who volunteered for sleepless nights and brain overload this November? Are we having fun yet? 🙂 Well, yes actually, the NaNo experience is mostly fun, even if I did get off to a slow start.

The chart shows green for the days I do well, yellow when I fall under the daily word count goal of 1,667, and red when the bar barely moves, if at all. I hope to catch up tonight. The minimum total for Day 7 is 11,669, but I started off this morning a day behind with only 8,001 words. First I’ll need to get my bar in the green(on my sidebar graph), then I’ll need to add extra wordage each day, to hopefully reach 5K before the conference.

The most important thing to remember, is to write! As Hemingway said, “The first draft of anything is shit.” It’s supposed to be! First drafts, especially in NaNo, are for smearing the bare story across your page, getting the great idea out of your brain and into manuscript form. Revisions make it pretty, but that’s for later. 🙂

So, how’s our NaNo or WIP coming along?

4 comments on “NaNo 2012, Day 7

  1. I’m not doing NaNo, but it looks like you’re doing great so far! Keep up the good work, and good luck catching that green bar 🙂

  2. I like what Chris Baty said, about the Nano draft being “draft zero” 😉

    I’m not doing as well as I’d like to be, but keeping my word count up about the 1667 each day so I guess I can’t complain 😉

    Xx

  3. Doing great so far! You can revise and improve a very bad first draft. You can’t revise and improve a blank page – not without writing a first draft on it. 😉

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Camp NaNo in August was enough for me this year. NaNo is a great idea isn’t it? Like you quote, the first draft is just to get some words down so having a target to get it done is fabulous.

    Good amount of green on your chart though. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

