NaNo, Writer’s Conference, and I’m a Busy Girl

NaNo Winner 2012-180x180

I’m proud to say I won NaNo, about three days early!   I was a sleepy mess the next day, but I did it!  The story is about 3/4 of the way complete, so I still need to finish up the first draft.

I was at the Faulkner Words & Music Writer’s Conference in New Orleans from November 28th to December 2nd.   I plan to post quite a bit about the experiences I had there this year, but for now I’ll just say it was AWESOME!!!  Conferences are a must for all writers, in my opinion, and this one has it all:  workshops, face to face meetings with big name agents and editors, plus panels and book signings with Best Selling Authors.  More on this later.

Since I’ve been back home, I’ve been busy with the business side of writings.  I turned in my revised Petal Pushers manuscript to my editor and I am anxiously waiting to hear how she likes it.  It’s book one in a Cozy Mystery series, slated for release March 2013.

My current project is writing a chapter by chapter outline for Nefarious, my gritty Romantic Suspense novel.  An agent I  met with in New Orleans is interested in the manuscript and wants me to send in an old school outline and an updated excerpt.  I usually outline before I tackle a new book, but I’ve never done one like this before.  I’m about a fourth of the way through, but would be happy as a little clam if any of you have links to helpful hints on writing these things.

2 comments on “NaNo, Writer’s Conference, and I’m a Busy Girl

  1. Congrats on winning NaNo! Such an accomplishment! And I recommend searching Janice Hardy’s site – The Other Side Of The Story – she has MANY fantastic posts on every aspect of writing novels!!!

  2. Thanks Susanna!! I’ll check out that site. 🙂

Leave a Reply

