2013 ABNA

The 2013 ABNA will start accepting entries at 12:01 am on January 14th, with a few changes this time around. The Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award will be awarding five publishing contracts, with one $50,000 Grand Prize Winner and four First Prize winners who each get a $15,000 advance.


The best change of all, in my opinion, is that the contest will be divided into 5 categories:
General Fiction, Romance, Mystery/Thriller, Sci Fi/Fantasy/Horror, and YA.
Hold on to your seats, past entrants, if my understanding is correct . . .  one person in EACH OF THESE categories will be either a grand prize or first prize winner!!  Woo Hoo!

Get your entries ready, because they’ll only be accepted from January 14th thru January 27th or until they reach 10,000 contestants.  You must submit a completed manuscript of at least 50,000 words, an excerpt, pitch, and your personal info.  Your name and anything that identifies you must not be on the manuscript, pitch, or excerpt or you will be disqualified.  Full Guidelines

I hope 5 will be the lucky number this year, since this is my fifth time entering.

Who  else is in?

Good luck!

3 comments on “2013 ABNA

  1. Jess says:

    Wow~ thanks for the news! So cool that they’re having more winners this year!

  2. Yay for a spec fic category. 🙂

  3. I know! 🙂 Having winners from each category is much better than just one from general fic and one from YA like in previous years. I’m hoping the judges for round two will be people who normally read from the genre assigned to them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s