Fun Reading Challenge

52 books 2013 blog widget for side bar
One of the single most important things a writer needs to do is read. I signed up for the Read 52 Books in 52 Weeks Challenge again this year, which is a fun way to connect with other book-a-holics, see what they’re reading and look over their reviews.  You can read anything you like – fiction, poetry collections, Shakespeare, how-to books, whatever floats your boat.  🙂  Click on the link below if you’d like to download an excel spreadsheet I whipped up last year and just updated so you can keep track of how you’re doing.

52in52Blank

There’s a column where you can name which mini-challenge, if any, a book fits in, plus a spot to mark with an ‘x’ for any books listed in the Well Educated Mind. There’s a chart included, cuz I get a kick out of having a visual of my progress, which works so long as you keep tabs of how many books in each of the customizable categories you’ve read

This could easily be tweaked for a child’s reading log, a To-Read list you check off as you go, to keep up with  book clubs selections, etc.  Use it and customize it anyway you like.  🙂

8 comments on “Fun Reading Challenge

  1. Congratulations! I’ve been doing 52 books in a year challenges over at Stringing Words for a year and a half – joined late in 2011, tried to count up the books that I’d read in the first several months of the year, and didn’t make it. But my 2012 count was 69 books, yay!

  2. I finished a couple books shy last year but hope to get in all 52 this time. Good for you, getting in 17 extra!

  3. Hey, Tina,
    Definitely not reading as much as I ought to lately. 52 would be overkill for me. 🙂

  4. I think WordPress just ate my comment. Didn’t read that much last year, so 52 books would be overkill for me.

  5. Its surprising how many books I went through a month, when I started keeping up with it. 🙂

  6. I’ve tried for 100 the past 2 years and fallen short. I feel like I read all the time and 100 in a year should be easy, but I seem to run out of time. Maybe I should try for 52 this year!

  7. I read every day, but no way could i get in 100 a year. 52 is a much safer number for me to wish for. 🙂

  8. Pete Denton says:

    Wow, 1 a week is more than I could manage. I hit 24 last year and felt pushed to achieve that. Good luck with the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

