Wearing out the keyboard

My PC keyboard is showing signs of wear, and I’ve only had this one just shy of a year.  Okay, the picture is really awful (sorry, I couldn’t get the flash to cooperate), but you can see that the ‘s’ and ‘d’ are about halfway worn off, the ‘n’ is barely there at all, and the ‘m’ is almost as bad.   There’s a slick, shiny spot on the space bar, most likely from when I snack and write at the same time.  But hey, it still works.

worn out keyboard

At least I haven’t spilled any thing on this one.  Who would have thought a little spilled coffee under the keys would make them stick?  🙂  Um, that’s what happened to the two I had before this one.  Even after cleaning them up, they would
Stiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiikkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk when I tried to type.  🙂  One of the keys fell all the way off at some point, but I don’t even remember what caused that.

So, who else has keyboard catastrophes?

12 comments on “Wearing out the keyboard

  1. Maggie says:

    My keyboard at work looks about the same, and my home keyboard was even worse until I got a Logitech illuminated keyboard. It’s a bit pricey, but worth it — the letters won’t wear off!

  2. I haven’t had any catastrophies with this keyboard but I did spill both coffee and beer on my old one. I can attest that such an occurance does tend to make the keys sticky–especially since I use sugar with my coffee.

    But the present keyboard has no “N” “E” “A” and “L” showing and only partial “S” “R” “I” “O” “M” “D” and “H”.

  3. Leah says:

    I have destroyed my share of keyboards. Who knew apple juice wasn’t good for them. On chilly days I have to press on the keys hard to crack through the hardened sticky. I have had help with destroying keyboards. I do believe every one of my four kids has removed the keys from a couple laptops. Never a fun job putting them back in. I have yet to wear out a keyboard though. You must be doing some serious writing. Keep it up. I can’t wait to read book 2.

    • Oh no, I do think apple juice would be even stickier than the coffee spill. 🙂 I read somewhere sprinkling baby powder in the keyboard and giving it a little shake is supposed to help stop the sticking, but it didn’t work when I tried.

      Thanks again for reading Book 1! 🙂 I’m hoping to get Book 2 out later this year.

  4. Dugutigui says:

    I believe spell check is the true enemy. Suddenly “cestrection” becomes “erection” instead of “construction”, and “honest family men were fighting for better wages to support all the work they put into erections … Hahahaha

  5. duketurner48 says:

    I hate autocorrect. I make enough mistakes on my own without autocorrect trying to read my mind and getting on the wrong page. It does make some funny corrections, but most are just embarrassing.

  6. duketurner48 says:

    Hey, Tina. I have tried to e-mail you from this site but my computer will not work with your default mail program. Please contact me at “weturner2002@yahoo.com”.

  7. I had to replace mine for the same issues. The wear-and-tear is just horrible as a writer.

Leave a Reply

