Camp NaNo 2013!

Camp NaNoWriMo kicks off in a few hours, and while I’ve been a November NaNo participant since 2006, this is the first time I’ve tackled camp.  If you don’t know what the hell I’m talking about, check out this link the Camp NaNo website.

2013-Participant-NaNoCampCover

The camp version of NaNo lets participants decide on a word count goal to reach in July.  I opted for 40K instead of 50, and rather than create a whole new novel, I’m going to use the time to finish up some projects.  My plans are to add a couple of new scenes to the next book in my Petal Pushers Mystery series, finish up the last half of a romance novella set in the Civil War, and write an entire gothic romance novella that’s outlined but not yet started.  Might even work on a poem or two, depending on how things go.

And I need to get some major spring cleaning done around here this month, plus finish decorating my office, which makes me glad I’m giving Camp NaNo a more laid back approach.   (Um, I get a bit obsessive about the word count each November, lose sleep, and generally torture myself if I fall behind.)  Mainly, I just hope to get caught up on the major things on my To-Do List.  Adding 40,000 fresh new words to the 3 manuscripts I mentioned is the big goal, and if I can just spend a half hour or so on the house each day, that habit should give me a clean house in which I can actually find a matching pair of my own socks.  I hope.  🙂  Clean ones, actually folded, and in the right drawer!

If I get behind on any of the above, I will NOT FREAK OUT.  Probably.  This is going to be fun, and I really am looking forward to it.

Who else is in?    What are your plans, strategies, and goals for July?

6 comments on “Camp NaNo 2013!

  1. Maggie says:

    I’m in this time — trying to finish what I started in April’s Camp. I like your plans — a lot of smaller things can seem less overwhelming than focusing on just one thing. Good luck!

  2. Good luck to you too! 🙂 I think it’ll be fun, and way less stressful than the November one.

  3. Good luck honey 🙂

    Im not participating this time as i know i wont be able to keep up with it lol

    xx

  4. Pete Denton says:

    Good idea to change the target and deal with the words how you want to. I’ve targeted the 50k, but will be happy with whatever the total ends up. So long as I’m writing 🙂

    Happy writing during Camping season 🙂

  5. Hey, how’s it going? I set a 10k goal, since I’m also keeping up with an insane critique schedule and homework assignments for the Odyssey workshop. More than halfway there now! It looks like my Camp word count may help motivate me to keep writing after my last critique submission is handed in on Monday morning.

    • I had to cut my goal down to 25K due to a back problem, but it’s going alright other than that. 🙂 Congrats to you for already being at the halfway point!

Leave a Reply

