Scapple, My Favorite New Brainstorming Tool

Scapple for Windows was released this past week, and I am lovin’ mine.  🙂

scapple_logo-256

Usually when I’m in the middle of planning out a novel, I’ll have notes all over the place:  blizzards of paper drifting over my desk, doodles on napkins, plot points jotted on Post-its, and recorded epiphanies on my cell.  Scapple is the ultimate tool for replacing that clutter with one organized ever-changing document, whether you call it mind-mapping, brainstorming, or pre-planning.

Scapple is made by the same people who developed Scrivener–the best writing and editing software, EVER!–but it is WAY easier and quicker to learn to use, plus you can drag notes between both programs.  Basically, you jot your ideas down, with options for connecting them with lines and arrows, or grouping them any way you wish.  Pictures and documents can be added as well.  You can customize the background of the ‘boards’ with your own backgrounds, change the note borders and fill colors, really set the thing up any way you wish.  Pretty awesome, huh?

I’m using it to sketch out my next NaNo novel.  Who else is lovin’ Scapple?

3 comments on “Scapple, My Favorite New Brainstorming Tool

  1. Lee Roy says:

    Thanks!
    I need to check this out . . . all my attempts have been scattered messes. 🙂

  2. You’re welcome, Lee Roy. 🙂

    Scapple has a free trial version, if you want to try it out.

  3. Steve Smith says:

    I liked Scrivener a lot so I gave Scapple a try a few weeks ago and the more I use it, the more I love it. Absolutely fantastic program. Costing only 15 bucks is a little insane for how amazingly useful it is.

Leave a Reply

