A for Apple Pie Smoothie

Ais for
Apple Pie Smoothie

I love smoothies, a delicious healthy snack or the perfect breakfast on the go. They taste like milkshakes but they’re good for you, so what more could you want? They’re fast, easy, yummy, and you can tweak this or any other smoothie recipe until it’s just right for your taste buds.

For a protein boost, add a TBSP of peanut butter. I don’t do dairy, but you can easily substitute cow milk or the milk of your choice for the almond milk in the recipe.

Apple Pie Smoothie

apple, cored and cut up but not peeled

banana

cinnamon, about 1/4 tsp or to taste

3/4 to 1 cup almond milk

1 TBSP flax seeds, optional

If you freeze the peeled banana the night before, the smoothie will be creamier in texture; if your banana is room temp, just add a couple of ice cubes.

Put all the ingredients in a blender. If using flax seeds, put them in last so they won’t get stuck in the bottom. Blend until smooth, adding extra almond milk if it’s to thick. Enjoy!

8 comments on “A for Apple Pie Smoothie

  1. Alex Hurst says:

    That sounds like a really tasty smoothie! I’m going to have to try that this summer…. smoothies are absolutely necessary in Japan’s humid summers.

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

  2. njmagas says:

    ARGH! That sounds amazing! I love smoothies for breakfast lunch and dinner in the summer time. This one seems to have all ingredients that I can find at the grocery store near me, so I just might have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

    Nicky @ http://njmagas.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/a-is-for/

  3. natalie says:

    How perfect is this? I have all the ingredients and since I don’t do dairy, I will have another smoothie to try.

  4. nrhatch says:

    This sounds great. I’ll have to give it a try.

  5. Sounds delicious, minus the banana

  6. J E Oneil says:

    I am so happy I clicked on the link to your blog. This is the best post ever.

  7. Michelle says:

    Yum! My family would love this!

    I’m part of the A to Z Challenge, too! 🙂

  8. I should not read your blog when I am hungry :). Awesome start for A to Z challenge

Leave a Reply

