B is for Birds in Books

B
is for
Birds in Books

Which literary bird comes to your mind first? Poe’s famous “Nevermore” spewing Raven, the statue from The Maltese Falcon, or maybe it’s Chicken Little?

JasperWinstonWIndowOct_08Above is a picture of my two little feathered friends, Miss Jasper the Green Cheek conure and Winston the Senegal parrot. Cute huh?  I think so!  And they’re smart.  I wake up each morning to Miss Jasper singing and Winston saying “Mommy loves me”,  “feed me”, and some of his other favorite phrases.  They helped influence one of the characters in my Petal Pushers Cozy Mystery Series, Daisy the parakeet and flower shop mascot.  Daisy is fond of Miss Addie, the ghost, and tweets up a storm with her head a-bobbin’ away whenever her ghostly buddy is near.

Do you have pet birds or a favorite feathered one from literature?

4 comments on “B is for Birds in Books

  1. J E Oneil says:

    If I had to pick a favorite bird, it would definitely be Poe’s. I love how inscrutable it is.

  2. nrhatch says:

    I love your birds! Let’s see . . . literary birds? Definitely the Raven and Chicken Little. And the penguins in Happy.

  3. Alex Hurst says:

    My first thought was Harry Potter’s Phoenix, followed by Mr. Puffer’s penguins, then the Crow that Stole the Sun, from a Najaho children’s book…. odd ones, the last two, haha. Your birds are adorable! ^_^

  4. Miss Jasper and Winston said to thank you all for the compliments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

