Gardening Journals

G is for
Gardening Journal

Spring if finally here, so what better time to start a gardening journal? Whether you buy a fancy one with blanks to fill in or use a pretty journal with empty pages, these handy books help you keep track of what you plant each year and where, keep notes about everything garden related, sketch out new landscape ideas, and make lists of the plants and supplies you need to pick up on your next trip to town. Some even come with pockets for storing seed packets.

Garden journals make excellent gifts, something to keep in mind with Mother’s Day coming up.

If you’re an avid gardener who likes a good cozy mystery, you might want to check out Poison, Perennials, and a Poltergeist and Secrets, Snapdragons, and a Spirit, the first two books in my Petal Pushers Mystery Series.

9 comments on “Gardening Journals

  1. Tina Downey says:

    We garden, but have never kept a journal. I see how it could be useful! We do sketch out where each variety is going to go to make sure we rotate the crops ;-)
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014

  2. njmagas says:

    I can’t grow anything. I leave all the gardening to Alex, who seems to like it much more than I do anyway. She has a little flower and vegetable garden out front. Maybe a gardening journal is the perfect thing for her.

  3. Stopping by on the 8th day of the #atozchallenge looking for fellow writers.Thanks for good info in your theme posts so far. I will check on your books after all this #challenge activity is over. If you have time or interest, I am writing about gardens and related topics this month. Since you write about gardens perhaps we are kindred spirits. See you soon I hope.

  4. Victoria says:

    I love gardening! Will be doing plenty of that when I head to my Mother’s on Friday. Great blog post! :-)

  5. Alex Hurst says:

    I want to garden more, but just don’t have the space… and I always overdo journals, haha…. they turn into giant pet projects, and I need to start focusing on my real writing more. :P Have fun though!

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in the A-Z Challenge.

  6. At first I thought, “How industrious of you, linking to books about gardening because you happened to write about garden journals.” Then I saw that they’re your books! Well done! Great way to tie in the topic to your books.

    Visiting via A to Z from Pass the Sour Cream

Leave a Reply

