Lilacs

Lis for
Lilacs

I absolutely LOVE lilacs!  They’re pretty, a cool purplish color, they grow on bushes with no thorns, but the scent is what really makes them stand out in the gardening world. Just a few lilacs in a vase will make the whole house smell amazing.

LilacbudsApril142014
Here’s a picture I snapped this morning of the lilac bush in my yard. The buds should open in a few days, but they’re already a nice shade.  I can’t wait to give ’em a sniff.  🙂  As you can tell by the gray sky, we’re in for some more rain this afternoon.

My great-grandmother, we all called her Mama Brown, had the most beautiful lilacs!  More than one kind, because I remember white blooms mixed in with the purple ones, and they seemed to have a longer blooming season. When we’d visit, she’d always send us home with a fresh bouquet, usually starring lilacs, sometimes with a peony or two.  Lilacs always remind me of her.

What is your favorite flower?

3 comments on “Lilacs

  1. nrhatch says:

    Lilacs have such a heavenly scent.

  2. Alex Hurst says:

    My favorite flower is a dahlia. They don’t smell that wonderful, but they are cheery and bright. After that, I suppose antique or lavender roses, because they DO smell wonderful. 🙂

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

Leave a Reply

