Muses

M is for
Muses

A muse is defined as ‘a source of an artist’s inspiration’.  As a writer, I sort of picture my muse as a spunky, rambunctious little fairy, with really cool stilettos that match her lavender tinted wings.  She wears bright red lipstick, drinks a lot of dandelion wine, and cusses way too much while she whispers her awesome ideas in my ear.  We share a warped sense of humor which helps us get along on long nights at the computer.

What does your muse look like?

11 comments on “Muses

  1. This is a really fun and clever idea! Never thought about it before, but if I were to describe my muse he would definitely be a wise, old professor who has stashed his massive library within the confines of my mind, constantly delivering ideas to me with a wrinkled smile and a twinkle in his eye. His ideas, of course, are always amazing – but a little hazy. Sometimes I do them justice, and sometimes I just don’t communicate them well (causing him to rant and rave, giving me a massive headache). It’s a love-hate kind of thing!

  2. nrhatch says:

    My muse amuses me . . .

  3. Shelley Munro says:

    LOL – it depends on the day. Sometimes my muse is kickass and sometimes he is a dapper James Bond like man. He is always contrary!

    Shelley Munro

  4. Lisa Mandina says:

    I don’t know that I’ve ever thought of what my muse is. That’s something I’ll have to ponder on now that you’ve made me think about it. If you have time, and want to, you can check out my M post.

  5. Victoria says:

    My muse is a mini-me of me…LOL 😀

  6. njmagas says:

    My muse generally inhabits the skin of a secondary character in whatever I’m writing. He doesn’t say much, and usually watches from the shadows. Sometimes he refills my coffee cup, or slaps my hands with guilt if I try to take a day off. He’s a bit of a hard ass, but I love him.

  7. Alex Hurst says:

    My muse is one of my characters. A cursing, shock-blue-haired demon with fuchsia eyes and a masochistic personality (for physical pain). Sounds like your muse and my muse would get along, haha.

    Alex Hurst, fantasy author in Japan, participating in Blogging A-Z April Challenge.

Leave a Reply

