Once Upon a Time…

Ois for
Once Upon a Time

 

Those four little words are pure magic.  ‘Once upon a time…’ makes me believe anything is possible in the story that comes next–dragons, fairies, princesses, and princes who don’t turn out to be toad frogs in disguise–that the world is full of possibilities.  Whatever comes between ‘Once upon a time’ and ‘happily ever after’ is sure to keep the reader on the edge of their seat, breathless as the tale unfolds.

As a child, I absolutely loved to be read to, and was very lucky to have a family who was happy to tuck me in with bedtime stories. As a result, I learned to read very early, passed the tradition on to my children, and grew up to be an author as well as an avid reader.

What comes to your mind when you hear “Once upon a time…”?

10 comments on “Once Upon a Time…

  1. nrhatch says:

    I loved reading fairy tales as a child. Last night, we watched Frozen ~ very much a fairy tale without the “once upon a time” starting line.

    • I wore out my fairy tale books when I was little, literally! I haven’t seen Frozen yet, but I have a very special little one I want to watch it with before long. 🙂

  2. njmagas says:

    My favorite fairy tales, which bring me all the way back to my childhood. I actually just finished reading The Book of Goodnight stories for tone research for a story. I read a lot of ‘once upon a time’ in that time, and got the same tingly feeling I always used to get as a kid. ‘Once upon a time’ is a doorway not pure, nonsense imagination.

  3. jazzytower says:

    ‘Once upon a time..” it kinda gives you permission to dream and believe what you want doesn’t it.

  4. I love reading and I’m so proud of my girls who have caught my habit. Nice to meet and connect through the atozchallenge. http://aimingforapublishingdeal.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

